You can now make an appointment for Marriage and Civil Union certificates.
Apply By Mail or Dropbox
Applicants can apply for a marriage license via mail or the dropbox at the addresses listed below. You must be getting married in the State of Colorado within 35 days of application. Marriage license certificates cannot be mailed out-of-state. All out-of-state applicants must pick up the license in person.
- Mail - City and County of Broomfield, Attn: CAC, One DesCombes Dr., Broomfield, CO 80020
- Dropbox - white utility billing dropbox located to the west of the Motor Vehicle Department at the George Di Ciero Building at One DesCombes Dr., Broomfield, CO 80020
To apply for a marriage license, you will need following:
- Completed State of Colorado Application for Marriage License form
- Completed State of Colorado Application for Marriage License form- Spanish
- Copies of your identification (see checklist below)
- Affidavit of No Social Security Number if applicable
- $30.00 license fee. Must be in the form of a check or money order payable to the City and County of Broomfield. You may also pre-pay for certified copies of your marriage license when the license is issued. Cost is $1.25 per certified copy.
All documents must be legible or it could result in a delay in the issuance of your marriage license.
- Please include your contact information so we can contact you if necessary.
- Marriage license applications will be processed within 24 hours of business hours. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday-Friday.
- Once your license has been reviewed and approved, the license will be mailed back to a Colorado address provided, or will be available for pick up at 1 DesCombes Drive. If this license is needed immediately, please call us at 303-464-5819 to arrange a pick-up time.
- After your ceremony or self solemnization, return the complete license to the Recording Department via mail or dropbox to be recorded.
- Both applicants must provide the following to obtain a marriage license:
- Proof of ID with date of birth
- Acceptable identification
- Birth Certificate, State issued Driver's License or ID, Military ID, Alien Registration Card, Passport, VISA, Certificate of Naturalization, Department of Corrections ID and Inmate ID.
- All these forms of ID must be current/valid and include a date of birth to verify that the applicant is of legal age to enter into a marriage.
- Acceptable ID's that are not in English must be accompanied with a certified translation.
- Applicant must complete the Affidavit of No Social Security Number, if they do not have a Social Security Number.
- Unacceptable ID
- Consular Matricula Card, Foreign Voter Registration Card, Foreign Driver's License, Expired document of any type
- $30.00 fee for the license (check or money order only) You may also pre-pay for certified copies of your marriage license when the license is issued. Cost is $1.25 per certified copy.
- Acceptable identification
- If either applicant is divorced, the following information is needed
- Date of Divorce (month/day/year)
- Place of Divorce (County and State)
- Type of court for the divorce
- If either applicant is widowed, the following information is needed
- Date of death (month/day/year)
- Place of death (City and State)
Per Colorado Revised Statutes, Section 14-2-109(2), individuals can appoint another party to act as their proxy and complete the marriage process.
- Applicants for a marriage license must be 18 years of age or older.
- HB19-1316-Modernizing Marriage Laws for Minors requires applicants aged 16 or 17 to obtain a Court Order in order to be issued a Marriage License in the state of Colorado. Parental consent is not enough to obtain a Marriage License.
- Applicants aged 15 or younger May Not be issued a Marriage License.
- Marriages are prohibited if an applicant is already married or between the following:
- Ancestor and descendant
- Brother and sister
- Uncle and niece
- Aunt and nephew
- Marriage licenses must be used within 35 days from the date of issue, anywhere in Colorado
- Marriage licenses may be obtained in any county, regardless of where the ceremony will take place in Colorado
- Blood tests are not required
- A marriage may be performed by the following:
- Individuals by Self-Solemnization
- Court Magistrate
- Religious or tribal official authorized to perform a ceremony
- Other public official authorized to perform a ceremony