Law Enforcement Officers' Safety Act (LEOSA) Concealed Handgun Permit
In compliance with the Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act - Federal Law HR218, you may apply for a Retired / Separated Law Enforcement Officer Concealed Handgun Permit with the City and County of Broomfield if you qualify. Please read the following instructions carefully. Note: Retired/separated officers applying for a permit must reside or maintain a secondary residence within the City and County of Broomfield.
In order to make the LEOSA concealed permit process more efficient for both the applicant and the Broomfield Police Department, we will be scheduling specific qualification dates. Below are the scheduled dates for the remainder of 2023 and for 2024.
2023 Qualification Dates
● August 8 - 9:00 a.m.
● December 12 - 9:00 a.m.
2024 Qualification Dates
● March 14 - 9:00 a.m.
● June 20 - 9:00 a.m.
● September 12 - 9:00 a.m.
● December 5 - 9:00 a.m.
In order to schedule yourself for a qualification please contact one of the below Broomfield Police Department Background Investigators. They will provide you with the appropriate paperwork to renew your permit and make arrangements for the $35 application fee (waived for Broomfield retirees) and $13 C.B.I. name check fee (required for all applications). Once this is complete, they will schedule you for the qualification.
Do not contact the Broomfield Police Department training unit or individual firearms instructors, as they will not be able to assist with this process.
In addition to the completed application form and fees the following items must be submitted:
● A photographic identification issued by the agency from which you separated from service as a law enforcement officer.
● Proof of residency in the City and County of Broomfield. (Colorado Driver’s License or Colorado ID Card)
An applicant must meet each of the following criteria to be authorized to carry a concealed firearm:
● Separated from service in good standing with a government agency as a law enforcement officer; and
● Before such separation, was authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigations, or prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for any violation of law and had statutory powers of arrest; and
● Before such separation, was regularly employed as a law enforcement officer for an aggregate of 10 years or more; or separated from service with such agency after completing any applicable probationary period of such service, due to a service-connected disability as determined by such agency; and
● During the most recent 12-month period has qualified, at the expense of the individual, with a handgun; and
● Not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance; and
● Not prohibited by any State or Federal law from receiving or possessing a firearm; and
● Have in possession a photographic identification issued by the agency from which you separated from service as a law enforcement officer.
Firearm Qualification Process and Standards:
● Within one year of applying for the concealed carry permit, must be tested or otherwise found to meet the qualification standards established by the Broomfield Police Department.
● Will be subject to all Broomfield Police Department range safety rules and procedures, and abide by all safety rules while at the range and during live fire qualification. Any violation of safety rules, as determined by department range staff member, will result in immediate removal from the range and denial of application.
● Will sign a Release and Hold Harmless Agreement and a range safety sheet with the City and County of Broomfield prior to any firearms qualification at the range.
Must provide the following items:
● Unloaded handgun - The handgun must be the one intended to be carried concealed or of the same type as intended to be carried.
● Twenty (20) rounds of factory ammunition – No reloads or specialty ammunition will be allowed (Additional rounds of ammunition may be needed if a passing score is not obtained during the first attempt).
● Both the unloaded weapon and factory ammunition will be inspected prior to being allowed to enter the range.
Address Change, Loss, Theft or Destruction of Identification:
● Within thirty days after changing the address listed on the original application or within three business days after the permit card is lost, stolen or destroyed the individual shall notify the Chief of Police. If the permit card is lost, stolen or destroyed the permit holder will be responsible for obtaining a duplicate card from the department and charged a replacement fee of $15.00.
Renewal of the Authority to Carry Concealed Firearms:
● Pursuant to the Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act of 2004, the authority to carry concealed handguns must be renewed annually, at the expense of the individual, through successfully completing a firearms qualification course. Failure to successfully complete the course annually will cause the authority to carry concealed firearms to be rescinded by the department.
Revocation for Cause:
● In the event the Chief of Police is notified the permit holder fails or no longer meets any of the certification requirements, the Chief of Police shall revoke the certification card.